RECIPES ARE MADE TO BE RECREATED

I like to eat great food. I also like to cook great food. Collecting recipes have been a passion of mine for years though I haven’t scratched the surface of trying all of them.

Writing a cookbook was something I contemplated but didn’t move forward to create one. The thought escaped meI until recently.

Reflecting on the way I cook I realized I make up recipes as I go. Most times I put my spin on recipes I follow. When I research recipes online I usually combine several and make it my own. The results have been positive most time.

My goal for the future is to write down my creations as I will tweak them. A cookbook will be written before I know it.

The other day I decided I wanted to make a frittata—a new experience for me. I researched recipes until I found the right one. I tweaked the recipe and cooked the frittata. I served myself a piece and it was delicious. The leftovers went in the fridge for the next day.

When I opened the refrigerator I saw the milk and realized I forgot to add the milk to the frittata. Much to my surprise, the missing milk didn’t affect the recipe. It tasted great the way it was. Now I have to make it again and include the milk.

When (if) you cook, do you follow the recipe or make it your own?

Published by

emmalmoore

I'm an unconventional writer who never knows how the project is going to turn out until it's finished. The project could be an article, short story, poetry or photography. For me that's the blessing of creativity. Come along with me as we embark on an adventure. Enjoy the ride.

2 thoughts on “RECIPES ARE MADE TO BE RECREATED”

  1. The short answer is absolutely not. I learned to cook from my grandmother and she taught me by a pinch of this, and a blob of that, and a handful of something else. I am not sure how that worked since I was a child with a small hand and she was an adult with a much larger hand, but it always came out anyway. Had to be the love. In my early adult years, we were very short on money so even if I started to use a recipe, I was always missing some ingredient or another so I learned to improvise. I didn’t get any complaints so it must have worked. Now I could follow a recipe if I wanted to, I have plenty of them stacked, filed, and in collected cookbooks, but even if I use one I always change it by throwing something else in. This makes for a great diverse menu but sure does frustrate the husband. When he especially loves something I’ve made, he must be content to enjoy it “in the moment”, because I have already forgotten how much of what I have thrown in and it can never be repeated the same again.

    1. Thanks Lindalh for visiting my blog. I do the same thing when I cook. I call it creative cooking. I’ve done it so long that I can’t follow the recipes. That makes fun food. I love it. Thanks again. I will be visiting your blog site out. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

