Unexpected Visitor

There was a knock at the door and I went to see,
Who was the unexpected visitor here to see me.
There stood a person near and dear to my heart I hadn’t seen in years.

He’d changed a bit but not too much.
The twinkle in his eyes-dimple in his chin,
Drew me now as it did back then.
More than that was the place in my heart,
Where coveted memories will never depart.

We visited a while. I laughed and giggled as a child.
The past became the present for only a short time.
Oh how wonderful to be young again.
Not in body, surely in mind.

He still took my breath away,
As he did the very day,
I first laid eyes on him.

I was grateful for answered prayers-to know he was doing fine.
My smile lingered as I slowly shut the door.
A sense of calm covered me when I realized,
I might never see him again,
Until we meet in eternity.

Leave a Reply

